POSITION FILLED Brooklyn, New York needs responsible individual or couple for May 1 - August 15th for Work Exchange

Thanks for your interest! The position has been filled, enjoy your summer!

Hello world travelers! I run a long-term stay hostel-style accommodation in Brooklyn, New York. I live on site and manage all aspects of the project. However, I've been offered a summer job that will take me abroad, so I am looking for someone trustworthy and responsible to take care of things while I'm gone.

*Please read everything, if you think this might be a good fit please email me directly at [email protected]*

The non-negotiables:
- START date of May 1st and stay through at least the beginning of August if not through Aug 15th.
- You are into the cleanliness thing! You know how to clean up after yourself and others when needed
- You're a people person, but you know when to turn down the volume
- You're a respectful housemate AND neighbor

About Our Place: We offer shared, affordable accommodation to adults in their 20s who are getting their start in NY or here for a few months for internships, studying, exploring etc. All of our housemates stay for a minimum of 1 month and a maximum of 4. We accommodate up to 8 (4 male and 4 female) people in addition to the on-site staff (me, at the moment... possibly YOU this summer).

The responsibilities:
- Facilitating move in/move out: this doesn't happen too often since we have a small number of beds and people generally stay for 2-3 months; but when someone new is moving in, you'll need to be here, show them around, fill out the quick paperwork, and help them feel at home
- Maintaining cleanliness of the space: Our Place works best when it is tidy and well-kept. This means doing a quick wipe down of kitchen & bathrooms daily (15-20mins) and doing a weekly clean up of the entire space (2-3hrs)
- Being a resource to housemates: maybe this means helping a new housemate figure out the best route for them to get to their internship, showing someone how to get to the airport, arranging a movie night or house dinner etc.

The job is NOT difficult, but upkeep and being on top of it is KEY. We maintain a respectful and healthy atmosphere for housemates AND neighbors. There are no set hours per week, but expect to put in up to 10 hours per week (at most). It is acceptable for you to take a job or internship somewhere else as long as your responsibilities here are met :)

In exchange, you will live for free on site in a private room with full-sized bed, large desk, chest of drawers, closet, and big window facing south :) The subway (G train at Bedford-Nostrand station) is just on the corner which makes getting around the city easy.

Expenses you should know about for NYC:
Unlimited monthly Metrocard (for subways and buses) costs $112
Grocery stores are generally more expensive than in other parts of the country/world
A beer in a bar can cost $6-$10
An affordable dinner out is $16-20

If you think you're a good fit for this position, please email me with "NYC Summer" in the subject line so I know you read all the way to the bottom ;) Let me know why you're the right fit for the job, past relevant experience, where you'll be coming from, and a link to your Facebook profile! (find me here: www.facebook.com/laura.b.357)




Job first posted: 19 March 2015